Home International Nobel Prize 2022: Announcement of Nobel Prize in Economics, 3 US economists...

Nobel Prize 2022: Announcement of Nobel Prize in Economics, 3 US economists got this honor

ben s. bernanke, douglas w. diamond, philip h. dybvig


  • Nobel Prize in Economics announced
  • 3 American economists got this honor
  • This honor was given for research on banks and financial crisis

Nobel Prize 2022: Three US economists, including a former Federal Reserve chairman, have been chosen for this year’s Nobel Prize in Economics. He has been given this award for “Research on Banks and Financial Crisis”. The Nobel Committee at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm on Monday announced the Nobel Prize in Economics to Ben S. Bernanke, Douglas W. Diamond and Philipp H. Diebwig. Ben S. Bernanke is the former chairman of the US central bank Federal Reserve. The award carries a cash prize of 10 million Swedish kronor (approximately nine million US dollars). The award will be presented on 10 December.

Received this award for research on banks and financial crisis

The Nobel Committee stated that their research explained “why it is important to avoid a bank collapse.” laid the foundation of Bernanke, 68, is currently with The Brookings Institution in Washington, DC. He researched the Great Depression of the 1930s and pointed out how dangerous a bank could be if panic-stricken savers pulled out their deposits. In their research, Diamond, 68, of the University of Chicago and 67-year-old Diabwig, of Washington University in St. Louis, described how government guarantees on deposits could prevent a financial crisis from escalating.

Earlier Nobel was not given for economics

Torey Ellingson, chairman of the committee for the Nobel Prize in Economics, said, “The insights of the prize winners have improved our ability to survive both a dire crisis and a massive relief package.” Unlike other Nobel Prizes, Economics The prize was not mentioned in Alfred Nobel’s 1895 will, but the prize was instituted in his memory by Sweden’s central bank. The first winner was chosen in 1969. Last year the Nobel Prize in Economics was awarded to David Card and Joshua Angrist and Guido Imbens. Card was awarded for research into how minimum wages, immigration and education affect the labor market. The prizes were awarded to Angrist and Imbens for their studies on subjects that are not clear by traditional scientific methods.

Nobel Prize given to these people in other categories

This year the Nobel Prize for Literature has been awarded to French writer Anne Arnoux. This year’s Nobel Peace Prize has been announced to Belarusian jailed rights activist Ales Bilyatsky, the Russian group Memorial and the Ukrainian organization Center for Civil Liberties. The Ukrainian organization has been selected for the award at a time when Ukraine has been facing Russian attacks since February and the armies of the two countries have clashed in several areas. This year’s Nobel Prize in Chemistry goes to Caroline R. Bertozzi, Morten Meldl and K. Barry Sharpless for developing a method of ‘simultaneous fragmentation of molecules into equal parts’.

Latest World News

Breaking news in Hindi Hindi News on India TV Read the latest news, live news updates and special stories from India and abroad and keep yourself up-to-date. Click for Around the world News in Hindi section


Tears in Meghan Markle’s eyes, Prince Harry talking about family, teaser of new documentary Viral

Harry & Meghan Netflix Teaser: A docuseries (documentary web series) based on the real characters of the British royal...

How was the government formed in Nepal? Nepali Congress, which won 55 seats, started discussion on this.

Nepal Election Results: The counting of votes for the parliamentary elections held in Nepal is going on. Out...

Ban removed from porn, this oldest profession… Mia Khalifa wants ‘revolutionary’ change in adult industry

Washington: Porn star Mia Khalifa has raised the demand for change in the adult industry. He said that the adult film industry is...


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Dani Alves Sets Brazil Record For Being Oldest Male Player At World Cup | football news

Dani Alves during the match against Cameroon.© AFPDani Alves became the oldest player to represent Brazil at the men's World Cup as the 39-year-old...

Pele Has Respiratory Infection, But Doing ‘Better’: Doctors | football news

Brazilian football legend Pele, who was hospitalized this week amid ongoing cancer treatments, has developed a respiratory infection, but is in stable condition and...

Saurabh Kumar Takes Nine Wickets In Match, India A Draw With Bangladesh A | cricket news

File image of Saurabh Kumar© TwitterLeft-arm spinner Saurabh Kumar staked a strong claim as Ravindra Jadeja's replacement for the upcoming Test series with a...

Luis Suarez Heroics Not Enough As Uruguay, Ghana Exit World Cup | football news

Uruguay crashed out of the World Cup on Friday despite beating Ghana 2-0 after South Korea scored a late winner in the other Group...

Recent Comments